Green Eggs & Sam

A healthy serving of fruits, veggies, sweets & treats!

Day in the Kitchen

1 Comment

This morning I woke up CRAVING protein. I knew I had to had it. Instantly, I thought egg sandwich. Being that I had a lot of errands to run locally around town, I figured I’d do all my errands and once they’re complete I’ll grab an egg sandwich and head home. I stopped by the library, water store, and grocery store to grab some ingredients for recipes I’ve wanted to make. While at the grocery store I saw a fresh loaf of low calorie weight watchers bread so I instantly decided that I would make my own egg sandwich and save the money and some cals.

Egg SammieWhipped up some turkey bacon, 4 egg whites, american cheese and the fresh Weight Watchers multigrain bread. It was delicious, just what I was craving. It felt even better that it was guilt-free! I also had a fresh navel orange on the side.

Then I got to cooking!

I knew I’d be more likely to eat some veggies if I had them made, so I took the liberty to roast a bunch of veggies to hold me over for the rest of the week/weekend.

Veggies

I preheated the oven to 350° and started chopping! (I ended up not using the snow peas because my pan was getting awfully full and I didn’t wanna over-crowd them)

Veggies Chopped

Topped them with a little misto olive oil spray, granulated garlic, pepper and a smidgen of salt and in the oven they went for 45 mins. I flipped, spun, rotated, whatever you wanna call it every 15 mins or so.SeasoningsIn the end, they were roasted perfectly and tasted delicious!

Roasted VeggiesYum!

While the veggies were roasting away in the oven, I started on some baked egg rolls that I have been DYING to make since I came across the recipe on pinterest a while ago. However, I didn’t have a lot of the ingredients it called for so I managed to make my own version!

Wonton 1

I used 5 simple ingredients:

  • Egg Roll Wraps
  • Cole Slaw Mix
  • Sesame Oil
  • Soy Sauce
  • Carrots

    Wonton Wrappers

    I used Nasoya Egg Roll Wraps

They came out delicious for being a test run but there was definitely something missing so next time I make them, I will try harder to follow the recipe.

I took 1/3 bag of slaw and sauteed it in a little bit os sesame oil with the shaved carrots and some low sodium soy sauce. Just so you know, anything you cook in sesame oil will automatically take on an asian flavor because it is what chefs use in chinese/japanese restaurants. After the mixture was cooked and somewhat cooled, I started wrapping.

Wonton Ingredients

 The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of the mixture to be put in the egg roll wrap, but after trying this recipe for the first time, I would say to put more. For the assembly part of the recipe, I will let the pictures do the talking:

How To Wrap 1

How To Wrap 2

How To Wrap 3

How To Wrap 4

Basically, you fold it like you would a burrito. Then put them on a greased pan, spray the top of them with a little cooking spray and pop them in the 400° oven for 8-10 mins then flip for another 5-7 (which I completely forgot to do because I was busy cleaning a sink full of dishes!)

Wonton 2I enjoyed them very much! They are definitely a recipe I will be making again!

One thought on “Day in the Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Happy Monday! « Green Eggs & Sam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.